top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureWill

Send and retrieve data in GH temporary storage


Whenever I'm doing design iterations in Rhino Grasshopper, the problem of keeping fit solutions comes up. There are usually two things I do. One is to use evolutionary solvers such as Galapagos to find the fittest. The other is to bake whatever comes close to the desired target metric. Sometimes I want to get a few options that are within range and leave them in GH so I can pipe that data into some other components to something else. This prompted me to write a few custom GhPython scripts to help me achieve that temporary storage in GH. After speaking with a colleauge, he recommended me releasing these components. So here they are. I hope they can be of help. I'm calling them the StickyIO components because it makes use of a sticky library in GH that is accessible through custom coding. Now I've exposed that functionality to you. I've made a short demo video where you can see how to use the set of components. An advantage it has is the ability to integrate some analytical metrics in optioning. Traditionally, optioning is done through changing form-driving parameters. Analyses of the option is a static result that the user has to see, to determine fitness. Evolutionary solvers definitely enable feedback loops in optioning, but their set-up is often too sophisticated for my simple shape making exercises. With StickyIO, user has finer control over what the metrics are and when they correspond to a fit option that gets pushed to a collection of valid options. I've only used StickyIO in a few occasions but I hope it can provide some expedience to your workflow as well.


Recent Posts

See All

How to pass all ARE exams

Now that I’ve finished all my ARE exams and registered as an architect, I can summarize a few pointers for anyone still in pursuit. These are things that I found to be noticeably helpful along my way

ARE 5 and prep materials

Here is an update on my progress on ARE 5 exams and my experiences with the preparation materials on the market. Ever since I passed my three managerial exams (PjM, PcM, CE), I've taken a long hiatus

GhPy can multi-thread too! But wait...

GhPy component is known to be a bit slow in its performance because of the JIT compiler it utilizes. However, GhPy is a powerful widget to test out scripting logic without the baggage associated with

bottom of page